Driving a car on public roads in Nevada without a driver’s license is against the law. It could result in a fine and jail time.
Driving without a license, or with an expired or invalid license, is a misdemeanor in Nevada punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, and/or up to 6 months in jail. A jail sentence is unlikely unless you have multiple violations on your record. If you didn’t have a license because it had been suspended, the suspension period would be doubled.
Whether you have never had a driver’s license or your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked has little bearing on what you should do after a car accident.
The lack of a driver’s license should not stop you from seeking compensation if you were seriously injured in a car accident caused by someone else’s negligence. Your lack of a license did not cause the other driver to drive carelessly, violate Nevada traffic laws, and injure you.
If you have been told you cannot file a claim against another driver’s insurance because you were driving without a license, you should speak with a knowledgeable personal injury attorney as soon as possible. The attorneys at Sam & Ash Injury Law, in Las Vegas can give you guidance about your rights. We can help you seek the full compensation available by law.
An initial legal consultation with an experienced Nevada car accident lawyer at Sam & Ash is free. We do not charge a legal fee unless we win money for you. We’re available 24 hours a day. Contact us to learn about your rights to seek compensation after a car accident.
Your Right to Compensation After a Car Accident
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle on public roads has a legal duty to take reasonable precautions when driving to avoid endangering others on the road. This means that you should obey traffic laws and respond to circumstances as necessary to avoid collisions.
If another driver fails to fulfill their duty to drive safely and you are injured as a result, you may have a right to seek compensation for your medical bills and related losses. A driver breaches their duty if they cause an accident through careless or reckless driving.
For example, a person who speeds through a red light or drives without headlights at night or drives while legally intoxicated is acting negligently. If they crash into another vehicle, the driver may be found to be negligent and financially responsible for the injuries caused to others. Those injured by the negligent driver may seek compensation for their losses.
The injured person would need to be able to show that the other driver’s negligence caused them harm. The accident victims would have a right to seek compensation for:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Property damage
Nevada law also allows the unjustly injured to seek non-economic damages, such as compensation for pain and suffering.
Will You Face Consequences for Driving Without a License in Nevada?
It is against the law in Nevada to drive on public roads without a valid driver’s license. But the lack of a license cannot be held against you as a contributing factor in a car accident injury case. It has nothing to do with why another driver caused an accident.
After a car accident, the police officer who responds to the accident scene is likely to ticket you if you were driving without a valid license.
If your license was suspended as the consequence of a drunk driving conviction, you would be sentenced to at least 30 days or longer in jail and fined at least $500. Further, your license would be revoked for one year.
What Should You Do After a Nevada Accident in Which You Drove Without a License?
If you get into a car accident while driving without a license, be prepared to own up to your mistake. Police who respond to the accident will request your license. Explain that you don’t have it and why. The police have access to information about license suspensions and revocations, so trying to hide such information only makes you look suspicious.
If you have been injured in a car accident, you want to protect your ability to file a claim for compensation. There are five steps to take after a car accident in Nevada if you are able to do so:
- Stay at the scene and cooperate with the police. Do not attempt to leave until police say you may do so.
- Ask police how to get a copy of the accident report and when it will be available.
- Take photos of the accident scene, vehicle damage, and your injuries.
- Seek medical attention promptly after being released from the accident scene.
- Contact a car accident lawyer.
Contact a Nevada Car Accident Lawyer
You have rights after a car accident, even if you were driving without a license at the time of the crash. A car accident lawyer from Sam & Ash Injury Law, in Las Vegas can protect your rights and help you pursue an injury claim to compensate you for your losses in the accident.
At Sam & Ash Injury Law, we’ll make sure you are treated with personal attention. Contact us today for a free initial consultation about your rights after a car accident and the best strategies for seeking compensation. Let’s talk about What’s Right for you.