For motorcycle riders, the rules of the road matter, especially when it comes to safety. At Sam & Ash Injury Law, we want to empower motorcyclists to understand the law and their rights. Our dedicated attorneys have helped thousands of accident victims throughout Nevada. We have earned a reputation for looking out for motorcyclists.
If you have been hurt in a crash, turn to a team of knowledgeable motorcycle accident lawyers who will fight for What’s Right. Trust Sam & Ash Injury Law. For a free case review, call us or contact us online today. We charge no fees unless we win for you, and we’re available 24/7 to answer your questions.
What Are Motorcyclists Required To Do in Nevada?
Here are 10 Nevada motorcycle statutes you should be familiar with if you ride motorcycles in the Silver State:
- NRS 486.181. Do not carry a passenger on a motorcycle unless the bike is designed for a passenger, with a proper passenger seat and footrests. Passengers must sit behind the driver astride the motorcycle on a seat or in a sidecar.
- NRS 486.201. A motorcycle’s handlebars cannot be taller than 6 inches above the top of the rider’s shoulders, measured as the rider sits on the motorcycle seat.
- NRS 486.221. A motorcycle must have fenders to be operated legally.
- NRS 486.251. Headlights, taillights, and other illumination as described in NRS 486.011to 381, inclusive, must be used:
- From one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise
- Any time people and vehicles on the highway 1,000 feet ahead are not clearly discernible because of weather conditions or other lack of light.
- NRS 486.281. A motorcycle must have one but not more than two headlights positioned between 24 and 54 inches from the ground. High-intensity discharge (HID) headlights are allowed if they have a correlated color temperature of not less than 5,000 kelvins and not more than 6,000 kelvins.
- NRS 486.261. A motorcycle must have a red taillight plainly visible from a distance of 500 feet when lit.
- NRS 486.271. A motorcycle manufactured after January 1, 1973, must have electric turn signals on the front and rear that flash red or amber light or any shade of light between red and amber.
- NRS 486.291. A motorcycle must have at least one rear reflector positioned between 20 and 60 inches from the ground that is visible from 300 feet when hit by headlights at night.
- NRS 486.311. A motorcycle must have a mirror on each handlebar with a reflective surface of at least 3 inches in diameter that allows the rider to clearly see the highway 200 feet to the rear.
- NRS 486.301. A motorcycle must have brakes adequate to control stopping and holding as prescribed in NRS 484D.250and 255.
Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Nevada requires all motorcycle riders to wear a helmet.
Many states set an age limit, such as requiring riders aged 17 and younger to wear a helmet. Three states have no helmet laws.
In addition to a helmet, Nevada’s helmet law calls for riders to wear protective glasses, goggles, or face shields unless the motorcycle has a windscreen.
If you are ticketed for not wearing a motorcycle helmet, you could be fined up to $205 in the City of Las Vegas. The fine varies elsewhere in the state. A conviction also adds two points to your driving record for one year.
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) says studies have shown that wearing a helmet that meets federal performance standards reduces the risk of death in a motorcycle crash by 37-42%. Motorcyclists without helmets are three times more likely than helmeted riders to suffer traumatic brain injuries in a crash.
How To Get a Motorcycle License in Nevada
Nevada requires a separate Class M driver’s license for motorcyclists instead of an endorsement.
To obtain an initial Class M license in Nevada, you can either complete a course certified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) or take the Nevada DMV’s written and skills tests for a motorcycle.
Courses are available from many Nevada public colleges and motorcycle dealerships. A motorcycle is provided, and no instruction permit is necessary. Find an MSF-endorsed class in the Las Vegas/Henderson area through the Nevada Rider Motorcycle Safety Program.
Take the certificate you get for completing the MSF course and your existing Nevada license to a DMV office within a year after completion to have an initial Class M license issued. The cost is $8.25.
Nevada Motorcycle Equipment Law
Nevada has clear rules about what equipment a motorcycle needs to operate safely.
Motorcycles must have these features and equipment:
- Working horn
- Brake lights
- Functioning brakes
- Turn signals for motorcycles made after 1973
- Rearview mirrors
Nevada Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Motorcycle riders operating in Nevada must meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Those minimums follow a 25/50/20 setup. That means that you need a minimum of:
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $20,000 of coverage for property damage
These requirements are the same for automobiles.
DUI Laws for Motorcyclists
Nevada’s driving under the influence (DUI) laws are the same for motorcyclists as they are for other motorists. They are among the strictest drunk driving laws in the nation.
Nevada laws prohibit motorists from operating a motor vehicle:
- With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more within two hours of driving or
- While under the influence of drugs or alcohol
The Blood Alcohol Concentration limit is stricter for drivers who are not yet 21 years old, the legal drinking age. An underage driver can be arrested for operating a vehicle with a BAC of .02% or more.
A person is considered under the influence if they are impaired to the degree that they cannot safely operate a vehicle. A police officer can arrest you if he or she thinks you are under the influence, and a judge or jury can convict you if they think the police officer was right. A BAC of .08% or more is not necessary.
You can also be convicted of DUI in Nevada just for being in actual physical control of your motorcycle or car, without even driving.
For a first DUI conviction, your license will be suspended for at least 185 days (about six months), you’ll spend at least two days and up to 180 days in jail, be required to perform 48 to 96 hours of community service and be fined at least $400.
How To Share The Roads With Motorcycles
Other motorists need to look out for motorcycle riders.
Motorcyclists have a right to be on the road, which means the right to use a complete traffic lane. Two motorcycles may share a lane, but a car or truck should never encroach upon a lane beside a motorcycle.
When in a four-wheeled vehicle, you should remember that:
- Motorcycles are harder to see in traffic and, when spotted, may appear to be farther away than they actually Their size makes it difficult to judge how fast a motorcycle is going.
- Motorcycles stop quickly. This can lead to a rear-end accident if an automobile driver is following a motorcycle too closely. The car cannot stop as quickly as a motorcycle.
- Turn signals are not self-canceling on most motorcycles. Make sure you know where a motorcycle is really headed before making a lane change or turn that could encroach on its path.
- Strong winds or a rough road surface can force a motorcycle from its lane position. Bad weather and slippery roads can be real problems for motorcyclists too.
All these factors lead to one simple piece of advice: give motorcycles plenty of room on the highway. Slow to let them by so they are ahead of you and either gone or in plain sight.
Nevada Motorcycle Law FAQs
Even knowledgeable riders can get confused about Nevada motorcycle laws. Here are common questions that people have about Nevada motorcycle laws:
Nevada Motorcycle Laws
No, lane splitting is not legal in Las Vegas or anywhere else in Nevada.
Yes. Under Nevada law, you and any passengers must wear a helmet when riding the motorcycle.
Penalties for not wearing a helmet could include fines and two demerit points against your license. Local law enforcement organizations determine the amount of the fines. In some locations, this can run into hundreds of dollars.
Not wearing a helmet may affect your claim. When you don’t wear a helmet, you could sustain injuries that you otherwise may not have, or your injuries could be more serious than if you were wearing one. An at-fault party could argue that the types and amounts of any compensation should only cover injuries you would have suffered had you been wearing a helmet.
Yes, in Nevada, a child is allowed to ride on the back of a motorcycle because there is no motorcycle passenger age limit. However, a child will need to have the proper safety equipment as required by law. While there is no minimum legal age for a child to ride on the back of a motorcycle, you should ensure the child will be as secure and safe as possible.
Talk to a Las Vegas Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Now
If you have you have been injured in a collision on a motorcycle in Nevada or have lost a loved one in a motorcycle crash that involved another vehicle, contact a Las Vegas motorcycle attorney at Sam & Ash Injury Law. Our injury attorneys can help you by:
- Promptly investigating the accident and preserving evidence
- Identifying all potentially responsible parties
- Negotiating with the at-fault party’s insurance company on your behalf
- Demanding a fair settlement and being prepared to file a lawsuit and present your motorcycle accident case in court, if necessary
At Sam & Ash Injury Law, you only pay for our legal services when we win compensation for you. Get the legal advice and assistance you need. Get What’s Right after your loss. Call us or reach out to us online now for a free, no-obligation initial consultation.